VIR IMSA: Vanthoor beats Tandy in all-Porsche FP3 duel

Laurens Vanthoor was fastest in the final practice session for this weekend’s GT-only round of the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship at Virginia International Raceway.

After overnight thunderstorms, the track was wet for the start of this hour-long third practice session of the weekend on Saturday morning. Proving how tricky conditions were, the Corvette of Jan Magnussen went off at Turn 15 on his out lap.

Nick Tandy set the pace by over a second early on in the #911 Porsche 911 RSR, before returning to the pits with the front end of his car coated in grass. Vanthoor then bested him by three tenths on 2m00.631s before the rain intensified once again.

Tandy went out for more runs, but failed to improve on any of them and suffered a couple more grassy offs, as did Vanthoor.

Joey Hand was third quickest in the first of the Ganassi-run Ford GTs, six tenths off the pace but almost a second clear of Connor de Phillippi’s RLL-run BMW M8 GTE. Magnussen recovered to set the fifth-fastest time, ahead of the BMW of John Edwards, who went off at Turn 4.

Oliver Gavin was seventh in the second Chevy, with Ryan Briscoe rounding out of GTLM class, having suffered an off at Turn 14.

#33 Mercedes-AMG Team Riley Motorsports Mercedes-AMG GT3, GTD: Ben Keating, Jeroen Bleekemolen

Photo by: Scott R LePage / LAT Images

In GT Daytona, Jeroen Bleekemolen was one of the few to improve in the closing stages of the session in his #33 Riley Motorsports-run Mercedes-AMG GT3.

Andy Lally had set the pace for the majority of the session in his #44 Magnus Racing Lamborghini Huracan GT3 – bouncing back from a troubled Friday which ended prematurely when he went off at the final corner. After teammate John Potter took over today, he had an off of his own at the same turn.

Richard Heistand was third fastest in class in his AIM-Vasser Sullivan Lexus RC F.

Sunday’s weather forecast predicts a mainly dry event.

Session results:

Cla Num Driver Chassis Time Gap
1 912 Earl Bamber
Laurens Vanthoor
Porsche 911 RSR 2’00.631  
2 911 Patrick Pilet
Nick Tandy
Porsche 911 RSR 2’00.938 0.307
3 66 Joey Hand
Dirk Muller
Ford GT 2’01.262 0.631
4 25 Tom Blomqvist
Connor de Phillippi
BMW M8 GTE 2’02.258 1.627
5 3 Jan Magnussen
Antonio Garcia
Corvette C7.R 2’02.468 1.837
6 24 Jesse Krohn
John Edwards
BMW M8 GTE 2’02.619 1.988
7 4 Oliver Gavin
Tommy Milner
Corvette C7.R 2’02.660 2.029
8 67 Ryan Briscoe
Richard Westbrook
Ford GT 2’03.197 2.566
9 33 Ben Keating
Jeroen Bleekemolen
Mercedes-AMG GT3 2’03.544 2.913
10 44 John Potter
Andy Lally
Lamborghini Huracan GT3 2’03.784 3.153
11 14 Richard Heistand
Jack Hawksworth
Lexus RC F GT3 2’04.732 4.101
12 63 Cooper MacNeil
Toni Vilander
Ferrari 488 GT3 2’04.968 4.337
13 48 Bryan Sellers
Corey Lewis
Lamborghini Huracan GT3 2’05.057 4.426
14 96 Bill Auberlen
Robby Foley
BMW M6 GT3 2’05.584 4.953
15 9 Scott Hargrove
Zacharie Robichon
Porsche 911 GT3 R 2’06.235 5.604
16 12 Frankie Montecalvo
Townsend Bell
Lexus RC F GT3 2’06.251 5.620
17 76 Paul Holton
Matt Plumb
McLaren 720S GT3 2’06.583 5.952
18 57 Katherine Legge
Alice Powell
Acura NSX GT3 2’07.241 6.610
19 86 Mario Farnbacher
Trent Hindman
Acura NSX GT3 2’08.005 7.374
20 74 Gar Robinson
Lawson Aschenbach
Mercedes-AMG 2’09.481 8.850

Source: Read Full Article