Truex tops Friday’s final Cup practice at Richmond

Martin Truex Jr. looks ready to try to make it two-for-two in the NASCAR Cup Series playoffs.

Truex, who won the 2019 playoff opener last weekend at Las Vegas, was fastest in Friday’s final practice session at Richmond (Va.) Raceway, where he also won the spring race.

Truex’s average lap speed of 121.885 mph was set early in the 50-minute session and remained atop the leaderboard the whole time.

In 27 career Cup starts at Richmond, Truex has one win, four top-five and 10 top-10 finishes and has won one pole.

“Richmond has been a great track for us the past few years. Obviously getting the win in the spring was huge because it was our first with (Joe Gibbs Racing) and kind of got us going for the rest of the season,” Truex said.

“We just need to keep it up and do all that we can to give ourselves the best chance possible for the rest of the playoffs and not just take it easy.”

Chase Elliott ended up second (119.861 mph) and Daniel Hemric was third (119.268 mph). Denny Hamlin was fourth and Austin Dillon completed the top-five.

Rounding out the top-10 were Kevin Harvick, Brad Keselowski, Ryan Blaney, Kyle Busch and Ryan Newman.

Kyle Larson ended up fastest among those drivers who ran at least 10 consecutive laps. Erik Jones and Clint Bowyer ended up second and third, respectively, in that category.

119 Martin Truex Jr. Toyota6122.152  121.885
29 Chase Elliott Chevrolet5322.5260.3740.374119.861
38 Daniel Hemric Chevrolet5922.6380.4860.112119.268
411 Denny Hamlin Toyota7422.6490.4970.011119.211
53 Austin Dillon Chevrolet7222.6900.5380.041118.995
64 Kevin Harvick Ford7022.6960.5440.006118.964
72 Brad Keselowski Ford7322.7010.5490.005118.937
812 Ryan Blaney Ford8622.7210.5690.020118.833
918 Kyle Busch Toyota7922.7480.5960.027118.692
106 Ryan Newman Ford7622.7700.6180.022118.577
1110 Aric Almirola Ford6322.800.6480.030118.421
1217 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Ford4022.8100.6580.010118.369
1334 Michael McDowell Ford5222.8150.6630.005118.343
1413 Ty Dillon Chevrolet4822.8220.6700.007118.307
1522 Joey Logano Ford8222.8260.6740.004118.286
1620 Erik Jones Toyota7222.8280.6760.002118.276
1714 Clint Bowyer Ford7022.8290.6770.001118.271
1841 Daniel Suarez Ford7622.8350.6830.006118.240
1942 Kyle Larson Chevrolet7922.8360.6840.001118.234
2037 Chris Buescher Chevrolet4422.8470.6950.011118.177
2195 Matt DiBenedetto Toyota8722.8490.6970.002118.167
2288 Alex Bowman Chevrolet5922.8530.7010.004118.146
2347 Ryan Preece Chevrolet6122.8630.7110.010118.095
2421 Paul Menard Ford7622.8680.7160.005118.069
2548 Jimmie Johnson Chevrolet7522.8680.7160.0118.069
261 Kurt Busch Chevrolet7822.8830.7310.015117.992
2724 William Byron Chevrolet5422.9550.8030.072117.621
2832 Corey Lajoie Ford2423.0870.9350.132116.949
2938 David Ragan Ford5323.0990.9470.012116.888
3036 Matt Tifft Ford5323.1300.9780.031116.732
3143 Darrell Wallace Jr. Chevrolet6523.1751.0230.045116.505
3200 Landon Cassill Chevrolet7123.4141.2620.239115.316
3351 Austin Theriault Chevrolet2723.5111.3590.097114.840
3452 J.J. Yeley Ford2023.7561.6040.245113.655
3553 Spencer Boyd Chevrolet1423.9291.7770.173112.834

Source: Read Full Article