Clint Bowyer tops Friday’s first Cup practice at Las Vegas

Playoff contender Clint Bowyer topped William Byron to lead Friday’s first Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series practice.

Bowyer was in the top-five most of the 50-minute session but bolted to the top of the speed chart in the final minutes behind an average lap speed of 178.059 mph.

Byron ended up second (177.223 mph) and his Hendrick Motorsports teammate Jimmie Johnson was third (177.148 mph). Ricky Stenhouse Jr. was fourth and Austin Dillon rounded out the top-five.

Las Vegas Motor Speedway has not been a particularly good track for Bowyer during his career. In 15 starts, he has one top-five and four top-10 finishes. 

Rounding out the top-10 in practice were Brad Keselowski, Denny Hamlin, Ty Dillon, Daniel Suarez and Chase Elliott.

About 19 minutes into the session, the caution was displayed for debris on the track. Cars returned to action a few minutes later.

Ross Chastain was forced to sit out the final 15 minutes of practice after his No. 15 Chevrolet was late to inspection last weekend at Indianapolis.

114 Clint Bowyer Ford2130.327  178.059
224 William Byron Chevrolet2930.4700.1430.143177.223
348 Jimmie Johnson Chevrolet1930.4830.1560.013177.148
417 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Ford2030.5520.2250.069176.748
53 Austin Dillon Chevrolet2730.5630.2360.011176.684
62 Brad Keselowski Ford2530.5640.2370.001176.678
711 Denny Hamlin Toyota2430.600.2730.036176.471
813 Ty Dillon Chevrolet2330.6130.2860.013176.396
941 Daniel Suarez Ford2530.6250.2980.012176.327
109 Chase Elliott Chevrolet3330.6390.3120.014176.246
118 Daniel Hemric Chevrolet2330.6450.3180.006176.211
1219 Martin Truex Jr. Toyota2630.6770.3500.032176.028
1322 Joey Logano Ford2730.6790.3520.002176.016
1418 Kyle Busch Toyota2830.6880.3610.009175.965
1510 Aric Almirola Ford2330.7110.3840.023175.833
1612 Ryan Blaney Ford1930.7180.3910.007175.793
1788 Alex Bowman Chevrolet2830.7700.4430.052175.496
184 Kevin Harvick Ford2130.8160.4890.046175.234
1920 Erik Jones Toyota2830.8170.4900.001175.228
2095 Matt DiBenedetto Toyota3430.8230.4960.006175.194
216 Ryan Newman Ford2430.8660.5390.043174.950
2242 Kyle Larson Chevrolet1630.8860.5590.020174.836
231 Kurt Busch Chevrolet2530.9300.6030.044174.588
2438 David Ragan Ford2730.9840.6570.054174.284
2521 Paul Menard Ford2531.0130.6860.029174.121
2634 Michael McDowell Ford2431.0760.7490.063173.768
2743 Darrell Wallace Jr. Chevrolet2931.1780.8510.102173.199
2847 Ryan Preece Chevrolet2431.2040.8770.026173.055
2936 Matt Tifft Ford1931.3571.0300.153172.210
3015 Ross Chastain Chevrolet1431.3661.0390.009172.161
3137 Chris Buescher Chevrolet1531.4391.1120.073171.761
3200 Landon Cassill Chevrolet1531.4581.1310.019171.657
3332 Corey Lajoie Ford2031.4861.1590.028171.505
3453 J.J. Yeley Chevrolet631.8701.5430.384169.438
3551 B.J. McLeod Chevrolet531.8901.5630.020169.332
3652 Garrett Smithley Chevrolet1032.2191.8920.329167.603
3777 Reed Sorenson Chevrolet932.4932.1660.274166.190
3827 Joe Nemechek Chevrolet1332.5592.2320.066165.853
3966 Joey Gase Toyota1133.3643.0370.805161.851

Source: Read Full Article