Brandon Jones earns first Xfinity win after chaotic Kansas race

Brandon Jones surprised the NASCAR Xfinity Series playoff drivers and escaped Kansas Speedway with his first career victory.

With playoff contenders battling for the lead Cole Custer and Tyler Reddick, Jones took the field four-wide following a restart on Lap 191 of 200 and grabbed the lead for the first time in the race.

He held off the field on another restart and challenges from Chase Briscoe and Reddick on the final lap to come away with the win in Saturday’s Kansas Lottery 300.

The win is Jones’ first in 177 career starts in the NASCAR Xfinity and Truck series. He has won races in ARCA and K&N Pro Series East.

After the race, Custer tried to approach Reddick on pit road to talk to him about an incident on the track but it turned into a physical confrontation, first between the drivers and then crew members.

Reddick ended up finishing second in the race, Briscoe third, Michael Annett was fourth and Justin Allgaier rounded out the top-five.

On Lap 146, Annett hit the wall to bring out a caution just as Reddick began his green-flag pit stop. All of the lead-lap cars elected to pit with Custer the first off pit road.

When the race returned to green on Lap 152, Custer was followed by Briscoe, Christopher Bell, Ross Chastain and Justin Haley.

Just after the restart, Briscoe rocketed to the lead while Custer fell off the pace after contact from Haley. 

With 40 laps remaining in the race, Briscoe held a small lead over Bell with Reddick running third. 

John Hunter Nemechek spun off Turn 2 on Lap 164 to bring out another caution. Most of the lead-lap cars elected to pit but Annett stayed out and inherited the lead.

When the race went green on Lap 169, Annett was followed by Briscoe, Reddick, Bell, Chastain and Jones. Briscoe quickly powered back into the lead.

With 25 laps to go, Custer used a three-wide move to take third as Briscoe and Bell continued to run first and second.

On Lap 185, Garrett Smithley moved up the track in front of leader Briscoe. Briscoe hit Smithley and Bell ran into back of Briscoe, doing serious damage to both of the race cars. 

Both Briscoe and Bell had to pit for repairs, which handed the lead over to Custer. The race returned to green on Lap 191 with Custer out front, followed by Reddick, Jones, Noah Gragson and Haley.

Briscoe restarted 12th and Bell 13th.

On the restart, Custer got into the wall as the field went four-wide and Jones moved into the lead for the first time.

Gragson and Joey Gase hit the wall on Lap 192 to bring out another caution. Jones continued to lead when the race returned to green on Lap 196.

Allgaier moved into second after the restart as Briscoe moved into third. Briscoe then moved into second on Lap 198, before being overtaken by Reddick on the final lap.

Stage 2 

Custer held off a stiff challenge from Bell to take the Stage 2 victory.

Reddick was third, Allgaier fourth and Briscoe ended up fifth.

Following the break between Stages 1 and 2, all of the lead-lap cars elected to pit with Bell the first off pit road. On the restart on Lap 52, Bell was followed by Custer, Reddick, Allgaier and Briscoe.

On Lap 54, Chastain moved up to the third spot and began challenging Custer for second.

After 60 laps, Custer had closed the gap on Bell and began working him over trying to make a pass for the lead. Chastain remained in third.

On Lap 63, Custer went to the outside of Bell and grabbed the lead for the first time in the race. Reddick then got around Chastain to move into third.

Harrison Burton spun in Turns 3 and 4 on Lap 70 after contact with Austin Cindric to bring out another caution. The damage to Burton’s No. 18 Toyota was too extensive and he was forced to take his car to the garage.

A handful of cars elected to pit but on the restart on Lap 75, Custer continued to lead followed by Bell and Reddick.

On Lap 80, Cindric was forced to pit under green with a flat tire after contact with Nemechek on the track.

Cindric again pit under green with a tire issue on Lap 87.

Stage 1 

Bell led all 45 laps on his way to the Stage 1 victory, easily holding off Custer.

Gragson was third, Reddick fourth and Allgaier rounded out the top-five.

Bell, who started on the pole, ran out to an early lead but the caution came out on Lap 4 when the engine in Ryan Truex’s No. 8 Chevrolet let go.

When the race returned to green on Lap 12, Bell was followed by Cindric, Reddick, Custer and Allgaier.

After 15 laps, Bell maintained a small lead over Custer as Gragson moved into third.

With 20 laps remaining in the first stage, Bell’s lead over Custer had expanded to 1-second as Gragson remained in third. Chastain was fourth and Reddick fifth.

Cindric pit on Lap 37 under green with what he believed to be a loose wheel. His team later confirmed the right-front tire did have a problem.

Cla#DriverManufacturerLapsTimeLaps LedRetirementPointsBonus
119 Brandon Jones Toyota2002:31’10.00010 45 
22 Tyler Reddick Chevrolet20000.272  50 
398 Chase Briscoe Ford20000.62333 44 
41 Michael Annett Chevrolet20001.6033 38 
57 Justin Allgaier Chevrolet20002.839  45 
651 Jeremy Clements Chevrolet20002.866  31 
711 Justin Haley Chevrolet20003.325  31 
823 John Hunter Nemechek Chevrolet20003.754  31 
939 Ryan Sieg Chevrolet20004.459  28 
1010 Ross Chastain Chevrolet20005.075    
1100 Cole Custer Ford20005.09585 45 
1220 Christopher Bell Toyota20005.46969 44 
139 Noah Gragson Chevrolet20007.227  37 
1407 Ray Black Jr. Chevrolet20016.046  23 
1590 Alex Labbé Chevrolet1991 lap  22 
1692 Dillon Bassett Chevrolet1991 lap  21 
1708 Gray Gaulding Chevrolet1991 lap  20 
1886 Brandon Brown Chevrolet1973 laps  19 
194 B.J. McLeod Chevrolet1973 laps  18 
205 Matt Mills Toyota1973 laps  17 
2136 Josh Williams Chevrolet1973 laps  16 
2274 Kyle Weatherman Chevrolet1964 laps  15 
2352 David Starr Chevrolet1964 laps  14 
2493CJ Mclaughlin Chevrolet1955 laps  13 
2522 Austin Cindric Ford1946 laps  12 
2661 Chad Finchum Toyota1946 laps  11 
2701 Stephen Leicht Chevrolet1946 laps  10 
2815Tyler Matthews Chevrolet1946 laps  9 
2999 Josh Bilicki Toyota1946 laps  8 
3078 Vinnie Miller Toyota1946 laps  7 
3166 Bobby Earnhardt Toyota1928 laps  6 
3235 Joey Gase Toyota18416 laps Accident5 
330 Garrett Smithley Chevrolet18020 laps Accident4 
3418 Harrison Burton Toyota70130 laps Accident  
3517 Bayley Currey Chevrolet49151 laps Suspension  
3689 Landon Cassill Chevrolet28172 laps Vibration1 
3738 J.J. Yeley Chevrolet13187 laps Electrical1 
388 Ryan Truex Chevrolet4196 laps Engine1

Source: Read Full Article