What time and channel is the IndyCar race today?

Saturday July 4 sees the NTT IndyCar Series racing for only the second time this year following the break due to Covid-19 and then a one month gap since the season-opener. Here’s how to watch the action in the GMR Grand Prix of Indianapolis from Indy’s road course.

This race, which normally signals the start of the ‘Month of May’ at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, culminating in the Indianapolis 500 on Memorial Day Weekend, has been shifted by two months due to the pandemic. So instead it now signals the start of a torrent of races – five in the space of three weeks, thanks to double-headers at Road America and Iowa Speedway.

It also marks a special weekend because IndyCar and NASCAR have come together – admittedly, not in front of any fans – so that the Xfinity race here will be held for the first time on the road course, while the Brickyard 400 for the Monster Energy Cup cars will use the iconic 2.5-mile oval tomorrow.

The Grand Prix of Indianapolis was first held in 2014 and was won by Simon Pagenaud in the Schmidt Peterson Motorsport-Honda – a team that is now Arrow McLaren SP-Chevrolet.

Since then, only Pagenaud and Will Power have won the event so that each now hold three GP Indy victories. That means Team Penske, who hired Pagenaud in 2015, have won the last five races here.

Power took pole for the fourth time here in yesterday’s qualifying session while Scott Dixon of Chip Ganassi Racing, who has finished runner-up for the last three GP Indys, topped this morning’s warm-up session.

Race: GMR Grand Prix of Indianapolis 
Date: Saturday, July 4, 2020
Start time: 12.08pm local/Eastern Time
Location: Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course

What channel is the IndyCar race on today?

The race is being shown live on NBC, with coverage beginning at 12 noon (ET) and the field due to get the green flag at 12.08pm.

In addition there are Pennzoil IndyCar Radio Network broadcasts: Mark Jaynes is chief announcer alongside analyst Davey Hamilton. Jake Query is the turn announcer with Nick Yeoman reporting from the pits. The GP of Indianapolis airs live on network affiliates, Sirius 211, XM 205, indycar.com, indycarradio.com and the IndyCar Mobile app powered by NTT DATA. All NTT IndyCar Series practices and qualifying are available on indycar.com, indycarradio.com and the IndyCar Mobile app, with qualifying also airing on Sirius 211 and XM 205.

Spotter’s guide, entry list, facts and figures for IndyCar at the GP of Indianapolis click here 

How the grid lines up for the GMR GP:

1 Will Power Team Penske 1’10.177  125.116
2 Jack Harvey Meyer Shank Racing 1’10.365 0.187 124.783
3 Colton HertaAndretti Harding Steinbrenner Autosport 1’10.519 0.341 124.510
4 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing 1’10.584 0.406 124.396
5 Oliver AskewArrow McLaren SP 1’10.840 0.662 123.946
6 Josef Newgarden Team Penske   
7 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing 1’10.199 0.021 125.079
8 Conor Daly Ed Carpenter Racing 1’10.216 0.039 125.047
9 Felix Rosenqvist Chip Ganassi Racing 1’10.231 0.053 125.022
10 Max Chilton Carlin 1’10.305 0.127 124.889
11 Alexander Rossi Andretti Autosport 1’10.342 0.164 124.823
12 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport 1’10.576 0.398 124.410
13 Patricio O’WardArrow McLaren SP 1’10.733 0.555 124.134
14 Marcus Ericsson Chip Ganassi Racing 1’10.628 0.450 124.318
15 Santino FerrucciDale Coyne Racing with Vasser Sullivan 1’10.790 0.612 124.034
16 Spencer PigotRahal Letterman Lanigan Racing with Citrone/Buhl A 1’10.635 0.457 124.307
17 Takuma Sato Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing 1’10.885 0.707 123.868
18 Rinus van Kalmthout Ed Carpenter Racing 1’10.707 0.529 124.180
19 James Hinchcliffe Andretti Autosport 1’11.147 0.969 123.411
20 Simon Pagenaud Team Penske 1’10.743 0.565 124.115
21 Alex PalouDale Coyne Racing with Team Goh 1’11.181 1.003 123.352
22 Zach Veach Andretti Autosport 1’11.276 1.098 123.188
23 Sage Karam Dreyer & Reinbold Racing 1’11.777 1.599 122.328
24 Charlie Kimball A.J. Foyt Enterprises 1’11.402 1.224 122.970
25 Marco AndrettiAndretti Herta Autosport with Marco & Curb-Agajani 1’12.051 1.873 121.863
26 Dalton Kellett A.J. Foyt Enterprises 1’11.587 1.409 122.653


Source: Read Full Article