2020 Supercars The Bend SuperSprint session times and preview

Scott McLaughlin could seal a third straight Supercars title at The Bend this weekend, as Jamie Whincup desperately tries to take the fight to the Bathurst 1000.

Three hundred is the magic number this weekend, that being the points advantage McLaughlin needs to put the championship beyond doubt heading to Mount Panorama.

Whincup, meanwhile, needs to keep McLaughlin to within at least 299 points to ensure there’s at least some pressure on the reigning Bathurst 1000 winner heading into the 2020 running of the Great Race.

As it stands McLaughlin leads by 215 points, a solid outing at The Bend last weekend helping him grow the margin from 143.

Crucially he seemed to have a speed advantage over Whincup throughout last weekend, the Triple Eight driver only managing a single podium.

This weekend will present a new challenge, though, with the ‘West’ layout in use for the first time. The shorter, sharper circuit is tipped to load the tyre less and could potentially shake up the form guide, following higher-than-expected degradation last time out.

The format will be the same for the second leg of The Bend’s double-header, with three-part qualifying on Saturday followed by a Top 15 Shootout and the first of three 32-lap, 110-kilometre races featuring a single mandatory tyre stop.

On Sunday there will be back-to-back qualifying sessions and two more races.

Each driver will once again be restricted to five sets of soft compound Dunlop tyres for all competitive sessions.

There will be two support categories in action, a combined sports car field and the Hyundai Excels.

2020 Supercars The Bend SuperSprint session times

Saturday 26th September 2020

  • Rookie Session: 9:30-9:50 AEST (9:00-9:20 local)
  • Practice 1: 10:05-10:35 AEST (9:35-10:05 local)
  • Practice 2: 11:30-12:00 AEST (11:00-10:30 local)
  • Qualifying 1: 13:25-13:35 AEST (12:55-13:05 local)
  • Qualifying 2: 13:45-13:55 AEST (13:15-13:25 local)
  • Top 15 Shootout: 14:05-14:40 AEST (13:35-14:10 local)
  • Race 1: 16:10-17:13 AEST (15:40-16:43 local)

Sunday 27th September 2020

  • Qualifying Race 2: 9:40-9:50 AEST (9:10-9:20 local)
  • Qualifying Race 3: 10:00-10:10 AEST (9:30-9:40 local)
  • Race 2: 12:20-13:23 AEST (11:50-12:53 local)
  • Race 3: 14:50-15:53 AEST (14:20-15:23 local)

2020 Supercars The Bend SuperSprint tyre allocation

Each driver will start the weekend with four pre-marked soft compound tyres and 28 new soft compound tyres.

At the end of Practice 2 the four pre-marked tyres and eight of the new soft compound tyres need to be returned to Dunlop.

That will leave each driver with 20 soft compound tyres for the remainder of the weekend.

2020 Supercars The Bend SuperSprint entry list

2 Bryce FullwoodMobil 1™ Middy’s RacingHolden Commodore ZB
3 Macauley JonesTeam CooldriveHolden Commodore ZB
4 Jack SmithSCT Logistics RacingHolden Commodore ZB
5 Lee HoldsworthTruck Assist Tekno RacingFord Mustang GT
6 Cameron Waters Tickford RacingFord Mustang GT
7 Andre HeimgartnerNED RacingFord Mustang GT
8 Nick Percat Brad Jones RacingHolden Commodore ZB
9 David ReynoldsPenrite RacingHolden Commodore ZB
12 Fabian Coulthard DJR Team PenskeFord Mustang GT
14 Todd Hazelwood Brad Jones RacingHolden Commodore ZB
15 Rick KellyCastrol RacingFord Mustang GT
17 Scott McLaughlin DJR Team PenskeFord Mustang GT
18 Mark WinterbottomIrwin RacingHolden Commodore ZB
19 Alex DavisonTeam SydneyHolden Commodore ZB
20 Scott PyeTeam 18Holden Commodore ZB
22 Chris PitherTeam SydneyHolden Commodore ZB
25 Chaz MostertMobil 1™ Appliances Online Racing Holden Commodore ZB
34 Zane GoddardMatt Stone RacingHolden Commodore ZB
35 Garry JacobsonMatt Stone RacingHolden Commodore ZB
44 James CourtneyBoost Mobile RacingFord Mustang GT
55 Jack Le Brocq Tickford RacingFord Mustang GT
88 Jamie Whincup Triple Eight Race EngineeringHolden Commodore ZB
97 Shane van Gisbergen Triple Eight Race EngineeringHolden Commodore ZB
99 Anton De PasqualePenrite RacingHolden Commodore ZB
View full results

Source: Read Full Article