Knoxville Nationals to feature more than 100 cars, exciting race format

This week features the prestigious Knoxville Nationals Sprint Car spectacular.

More than 100 of the most successful Sprint Car drivers on the planet have descended upon the Iowa plains for a chance at the $150,000 A feature prize and a share of the overall $1 million purse in a race rightfully called the “Granddaddy of Them All.”

The Knoxville Nationals.

Leading the World of Outlaw championship standings, Brad Sweet is chasing his second-consecutive victory in the prestigious event. He would become the first repeat winner since 10-time WoO champion Donny Schatz accomplish the feat in 2006 and 2007.

Speaking of Schatz, the Tony Stewart Racing driver and 10-time WoO champion should also be primed to contend.

Previous winners also entered include Sammy Swindell (1983), Kraig Kinser (2005) and 2010 winner Tim Shaffer who claimed the 50th running nine years ago.

Other notables include Logan Schuchart, Sheldon Haudenschild, Ian Madsen, Brent Marks, Aaron Reutzel, Brady Baco and Daryn Pittman.

NASCAR star Kyle Larson is also entered in his No. 75 alongside teammate Carson Macedo.

The festivities can be viewed each night on DirtVision.Com as part of a season-pass or via individual nights.

Here is the race format and entry list.

Wednesday and Thursday Qualifying Nights

Order of Events: Hot laps, Qualifications, 5 Heats, C Main, B Main, 25 lap A Main.

Qualifications – 200 points are awarded for quick timer, 198 for second quick, 196 for third, etc.

Only the top 50 qualifiers each night make the heats, the rest are put in the last chance heats if needed in which the first eight finishers will fill the back of that night’s C feature (starting in the sixth row).  If there are ten or less cars not making the heats, they will line straight up by time starting in the sixth row.  The quickest will be given 50 points, the next 47, etc.

Last Chance Heats (for drivers out of the top 50 in Qual.) – 50 points awarded to the winner, 47 for 2nd, etc.

Heats – 100 points are awarded for the heat race winner, points go down by three for each position: 97, 94, 91, 88, etc.

Heats are inverted by 8. This sets up the most exciting racing of the week. Only the top four finishers go to A Main, fifth through eighth go to the B Main, finishing positions 9-10 go to the C Main.

C Main

Top four finishers go to back of the B. Fifth place is worth 92 pts., 6th is 90, etc.

B Main

The top four finishers transfer to the tail of the A. The B awards 142 points for fifth, 140 for sixth and so on by twos.

A Main

The A Main points are the same as time trials: 200, 198, 196 etc. This explains how a driver cannot make the A, but if he timed well may have more points than someone who did make the A.  The invert for the A Main is eight.

First tie breaker is finish position in respective main event. Next tie breaker is rank in time trial. The third tie breaker is pill draw. Other tie breaking criteria may be implemented if needed.

A perfect score (quick time, heat win, feature win) is 500.

The top 16 in combined points from Wednesday and Thursday are locked in to Saturday’s Championship A Main, Teams 17th-26th in points are awarded the first 10 positions in the Saturday B Main. The rest of the field comes back for more racing on Friday.


The top 4 finishers from the “Hard Knox” A-Main will earn the 21-24 starting spots in Saturday’s A Main. This is where the term making the A Main the Hard Knox way comes from. Friday’s event will consist of split field qualifying, 6 heats, C Main, two B Main’s and the Hard Knox 25 lap A Main.

*The Friday format may change if there are any weather-related scheduling issues.


10 lap E Main, 12 lap D Main, 15 lap C Main, 22 lap B Main, and the 50 lap Knoxville Nationals Championship A Main.

The B, C, D, and E Main will take the top four finishers to the tail of the next event (if there are scratches, there may be more taken for a particular event). The top four finishers from the B Main will earn the 17-20 starting spots in the 50 lap A Main.



1B – Travis Rilat, Heath, TX

1S – Logan Schuchart, Hanover, PA

1X – Don Droud Jr., Lincoln, NE

2M – Kerry Madsen, St. Mary’s, NSW, AU

2C – Wayne Johnson, Tuttle, OK

2KS – Austin McCarl, Altoona, IA

2MM – Matt Moro, Polk City, IA

3H – Jac Haudenschild, Wooster, OH

J4 – John Garvin, Sarver, PA (R)

5H – Spencer Bayston, Lebanon, IN

5J – Jamie Ball, Knoxville, IA

7S – Tim Kaeding, San Jose, CA

7SW – Jeff Swindell, Bartlett, TN

7TAZ – Tasker Phillips, Pleasantville, IA

7X – Justin Henderson, Tea, SD

9 – James McFadden, Ormeau, QLD, AU

9X – Jake Bubak, Arvada, CO

11 – Dale Blaney, Hartford, OH

11C – Roger Crockett, Medford, OR

13 – Mark Dobmeier, Grand Forks, ND

13X – Paul McMahan, Nashville, TN

15 – Donny Schatz, Fargo, ND

17 – Sheldon Haudenschild, Wooster, OH

18 – Ian Madsen, St. Mary’s, NSW, AU

18R – Ryan Roberts, Aurora, NE (R)

19 – Brent Marks, Myerstown, PA

19P – Paige Polyak, Tiffin, OH

19T – Kevin Thomas Jr., Cullman, AL

20 – AJ Moeller, Rockwell City, IA

27 – Carson McCarl, Altoona, IA

39 – Sammy Swindell, Germantown, TN

41S – Dominic Scelzi, Fresno, CA

44S – Trey Starks, Puyallup, WA

45 – Rusty Hickman, Tullamarine,VIC,AU(R)

48 – Danny Dietrich, Gettysburg, PA

51 – Freddie Rahmer, Salfordville, PA (R)

56 – Joe Simbro, Swan, IA

56N – Davey Heskin, St. Michael, MN

57 – Kyle Larson, Elk Grove, CA

64 – Scotty Thiel, Sheboygan, WI (R)

68 – Chase Johnson, Penngrove, CA

70X – Justin Peck, Monrovia, IN

71 – Giovanni Scelzi, Fresno, CA

73AF – Joey Moughan, Springfield, IL

74 – Brodie Tulloch, Springfield, NE (R)

75 – Glenn Saville, Razorback, NSW, AU

83J – Lynton Jeffrey, Sydney, NSW, AU

85 – Chase Wanner, Ottumwa, IA

87 – Aaron Reutzel, Clute, TX

88 – Tanner Thorson, Minden, NV (R)

99 – Brady Bacon, Broken Arrow, OK

99X – Skylar Gee, Leduc, ALB, CAN



09 – Matt Juhl, Tea, SD

1A – Jacob Allen, Hanover, PA

2 – Carson Macedo, Lemoore, CA

2AU-Andrew Schuerle,Toowoomba,QLD,AU(R)

2K – Kevin Ingle, Huron, SD

3 – Ayrton Gennetten, Gravois Mills, MO (R)

3C – Cale Conley, Vienna, WV

3P – Sawyer Phillips, Pleasantville, IA

4 – Terry McCarl, Altoona, IA

K4 – Chad Kemenah, Alvada, OH

5 – Shane Stewart, Bixby, OK

7 – Craig Dollansky, Elk River, MN

7JS – Jason Sides, Bartlett, TN

9JR – Derek Hagar, Marion, AR (R)

10 – RJ Johnson, Tampa, FL

11K – Kraig Kinser, Bloomington, IN

12N – Joey Saldana, Brownsburg, IN

14M – Marcus Dumesny, Nelson, NSW, AU

15H – Sam Hafertepe, Jr., Sunnyvale, TX

15M – Bobby Mincer, Burlington, IA

17B – Josh Baughman, Odessa, TX

17BX – Bill Balog, Hartland, WI

17W – Shane Golobic, Fremont, CA

17WX – Harli White, Lindsay, OK

17XL – Caleb Helms, Findlay, OH

18S – Jason Solwold, Mount Vernon, WA

W20 – Greg Wilson, Benton Ridge, OH

21 – Brian Brown, Grain Valley, MO

21K – Thomas Kennedy, Winnipeg, MB, CAN

21P – Robbie Price, Cobble Hill,BC,CAN(R)

22 – TBA

24 – Rico Abreu, Rutherford, CA

26 – Cory Eliason, Selma, CA

28 – Scott Bogucki McLaren Vale, SA, AU

28P – Brian Paulus – Mooresville, IN

29 – Willie Croft, Roseville, CA

33M – Mason Daniel, Springville, CA

39M – Anthony Macri, Dillsburg, PA (R)

41 – David Gravel, Watertown, CT

44 – Chris Martin, Ankeny, IA

49 – Brad Sweet, Grass Valley, CA

49J – Josh Schneiderman, W.Burlington, IA

49X – Tim Shaffer, Aliquippa, PA

55 – Brooke Tatnell, Sans Souci, NSW, AU

69K – Lance Dewease, Fayetteville, PA

70 – Brock Zearfoss, Jonestown, PA

71BC – Tyler Courtney, Indianapolis, IN

71P – Parker Price-Miller, Kokomo, IN

**83 – Daryn Pittman, Owasso, OK

83C – Adam Cruea, Troy, OH

84 – Tom Harris, Banbury, OXFD, UK

91 – Cale Thomas, Fairland, IN

92 – Sye Lynch, Apollo, PA (R)

Source: Read Full Article