Sandown TCR: Girolami storms to debut pole

WTCR regular Nestor Girolami recovered from an early mistake to secure a comfortable series debut pole position at Sandown.

The practice pacesetter had an awkward start to the session, a mistake at Dandenong Road eight minutes in resulting in a trip through the gravel.

But his recovery was swift, the Argentine going quickest on his very next lap with a 1m15.156s.

His next lap was quicker again, a 1m14.586s stretching his advantage.

Wall Honda teammate John Martin did close the gap to 0.01s with a couple of minutes to go, Girolami responding with a remarkable 1m13.963s on his final run to grab pole.

“I’m really happy,” said Girolami. “Thanks to the team, they’ve done na amazing job since yesterday.

“It was a scary qualifying, I made a mistake and locked a front. After that I adjusted my brake bias and tried to do a clean lap.”

Supercars ace Andre Heimgartner (Kelly Holden) grabbed second at the flag, albeit more than three tenths shy of the polesitter.

Martin slipped back to third, points leader Will Brown (HMO Hyundai) set to join him on the second row.

Brown will start with a five-place advantage over chief title rival Dylan O’Keeffe, the ASM Alfa driver just ninth quickest in that session.

The first race kicks off at 1:10pm local time.

Watch all the Sandown TCR Australia action live and free from anywhere in the world thanks to

1  38Nestor Girolami (ARG)  Wall Racing                   Honda Civic Type R  1:13.9637 
2 777Andre Heimgartner (NZ) Kelly Racing                  Holden Astra        1:14.314700.3510
3  24John Martin (NSW)      Wall Racing                   Honda Civic Type R  1:14.420500.4568
4  30William Brown (Qld)    HMO Customer Racing           Hyundai i30N        1:14.502900.5392
5   8Jason Bright (Vic)     Taskforce/Melb Performance CntVolkswagon Golf GTI 1:14.735100.7714
6   7Jordan Cox (NSW)       Garry Rogers Motorsport       Alfa Romeo Giulietta1:15.021701.0580
7  50Tony D’Alberto (Vic)   Wall Racing                   Honda Civic Type R  1:15.376801.4131
8  62Bryce Fullwood (NT)    Kelly Racing                  Holden Astra        1:15.424901.4612
9   9Dylan O’Keeffe (Vic)   Ashley Seward Motorsport      Alfa Romeo Giulietta1:16.034102.0704
10 34James Moffat (Vic)     Garry Rogers Motorsport       Renault Megane RS   1:16.035302.0716
11  3Garth Tander (Vic)     Melbourne Performance Centre  Audi RS 3           1:16.037902.0742
12 97Liam McAdam (Qld)      Melbourne Performance Centre  Audi RS 3           1:16.131002.1673
13100Russell Ingall (Qld)   Melbourne Performance Centre  Audi RS 3           1:16.584502.6208
14  2Aaron Cameron (Vic)    Melbourne Performance Centre  Volkswagen Golf GTI 1:16.857802.8941
15 11Nathan Morcom (NSW)    HMO Customer Racing           Hyundai i30N        1:17.278703.3150
16 33Chris Pither (NZ)      Garry Rogers Motorsport       Renault Megane RS   1:17.811403.8477
17 35Alexandra Whitley (Qld)Melbourne Performance Centre  Volkswagon Golf GTI 1:18.878704.9150

Source: Read Full Article